Digital meets Culture
https://www.digitalmeetsculture.net/article/mediaconch-newsletter-7-sept-2016/
Export date: Thu Nov 14 9:55:06 2019 / +0000 GMT

MediaConch Newsletter #7 - Sept. 2016




What's new in MediaConch 16.08


Local GUI

  • New policy editor

  • minor fixes

  • Policy Editor: closes messages when user changes the policy/rule

  • Checker: remove a node is not saved

  • Checker: fixed hadling of files with special characters

  • Added ctrl-q shortcut to quit

  • Better handling of user path


Online GUI

  • Policy Editor: closes message when user changes policy/rule


CLI

  • Checker: fixed handling of files with special characters

  • Better handling of user path


 

mediaconch_sep16_1

 

Latest Downloads


Download MediaConch's latest release or a daily build.

MediaConch now supports plugins including VeraPDF and DPFManager!

 

Updates


Sign up for our upcoming MediaConch webinar on Thursday, September 15th at 3pm CET / 9am EST / 6am PST (for the early risers!).

MediaArea folks and PREFORMA at large will be hosting a workshop and giving talks at iPRES in Bern, Switzerland on Wednesday, October 5th! Check out the Workshop 3: Quality Standards for Preserving Digital Cultural Heritage as well as Ashley Blewer's talk on CELLAR and the standardization of digital preservation.

In case you missed it, here is a great synopsis and a review by Erwin Verbruggen of our pre-IETF Berlin Symposium: No Time to Wait!: Standardizing FFV1 & Matroska for Preservation held July 18th - 20th. You can also check out ample documentation and links to videos of the talks.

The MediaConch project and this symposium has received funding from PREFORMA, co-funded by the European Commission under it's FP7-ICT Programme.

 

Feedback



MediaArea is eager to build a community of collaborators and testers to integrate the software in their workflows and participate in usability testing. Please contact us if you'd like to be involved!